Castling in Chess

All the rules, whys, and wherefores of castling in chess. Seventh in a series of videos for the absolute chess beginner. Look for more great chess videos at


  1. since the king can only move one square at a time is castling done in two moves or one? The way my book on chess is worded led me to belive it was done in two moves…

  2. @redclay1980 It's done in one move. It's the only time you can move two pieces, and as you noticed, it's the only time the King can move more than one square.

    But remember that the King can't castle out of or across check.

  3. ooooh I love this! I've never played chess at any length before and didn't even know all the rules, but my 15 year old son has just taken an interest in it & he's more advanced than I, so I'm sneaking on here to get the one up on him. Thank you SO much for posting these videos for the complete chess noob!
    btw…what kind of mic are you using?

  4. why is everyone so anger? great video by the way.

  5. Thank you. The way you explain every requirement so explicitly is very helpful.

  6. Thanks for your kind comment! 🙂

  7. By the way, I think it is important to stress that when a King castles on the Queen side, He can ONLY move his king 2 spaces as appose to 3 spaces (making it similar to a castle on the Kings side.)

  8. Quite right. Castling queen side has all the same rules as king side castling, but it's not symmetrical. The king and rook end up nearer the center with queen side castling.

  9. Wow, I didn't know you could castle on the Queen's side too. Thanks!

  10. Sure can. It's often useful to castle queenside if your opponent is organizing an attack on the kingside. 🙂

  11. I can't help you with that one … I'm not a C# programmer. Sorry.

  12. i thought the king could only move one square why can it move two and why does the rook just jump over it

  13. Can the king castle when checked? ??????????

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *